God or Science?

Friday, July 8th, 2011

This post I read tonight sums up how I feel about religion perfectly.

The question: “Does anyone else think that the truth of this universe is more beautiful than religion?”

The answer: “Well I will put it this way: imagine if you found out the Christians were right. Just imagine you died and it all turned out to be true, even the parts that contradict the other parts of it. There is a big space-monkey with a beard who made it all, who made stars so we could look at them, who put dinosaur bones in the ground to test our faith, and so on.

I would be so disappointed, so utterly revolted. The universe turns out to be an idiotic morality play written in fist-grasped crayon, ignorant slavishness turns out to be the only worthy virtue, the slack-jawed jeebus-lickers turn out to be right…at that point, hell would make no difference to me because I would be in hell even if I were not in hell.

The Christian version of reality is just so utterly fucking stupid it would horrify me beyond sanity. So yeah, the truth is infinitely more beautiful.”

Leave a Reply

