I miss Assembly and BASIC. POKE 43602,0

Friday, July 23rd, 2010

Travelling back in my mind, inspired by this article Google executive frustrated by Java, C++ complexity

Today’s commercial-grade programming languages — C++ and Java, in particular — are way too complex and not adequately suited for today’s computing environments

I remember the good old days:

10 for a = 1 to 26
20 print chr$(a+64);
30 next
run
abcdefghij….

(or something like that, its been well over 20 years since I actually wrote anything in BASIC).

I also remember the good old days of programming in 6502 raw assembly code, man that was fun. I had no idea what I was doing at first or even what assembly was, but I coughed up huge allowance dollars for a thick, dry, purely technical book, figured it out, and churned out really cool things.

When I first caught wind of the C programming language, after having taken a few years off from doing anything with a keyboard, I just didn’t get it. Something about it became ugly, heavy, overly complicated and unnecessary.  I didn’t get why I couldn’t just inject my code straight into memory from a text file anymore.

I wrote some really nice stuff in assembly back in the day, sound and fast video and cool graphic effects.  At least that’s how I remembered it.

While I don’t have any source code for that assembly stuff anywhere, here’s a game in BASIC I wrote in that first 6 months of touching a computer.  Requires an Apple //c and every single spare byte of memory.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/6bp1g669cx0n5gs/Chopper%20Assault%20(All).jpg

Leave a Reply

